At least once a year, I attend a concert that just blows my mind and this year, the Fever Ray performance successfully accomplished that.  I know I’ve mentioned Fever Ray quite a few times… actually quite a number of times (I apologize for my slight obsession) but it’s with good reason.  The live show is basically an in-your-face depiction of the album and the videos.  Some of the outfits worn in the videos are used in the show and Karin’s voice sounds incredible live.  The musicianship of the rest of her band is also through the roof.  The best way I can sum up the performance is by saying it’s a cross between attending a tribal ritual during a lightshow.  Not to go unnoticed as well is the opening act, Hildur Guðnadóttir, a cellist from Iceland who has worked with such bands as Animal Collective and Mum.  As she began playing, the whole crowd just went silent, mesmerized by her performance of original compositions she’d written.  I highly recommend giving her a listen because he songs will not disappoint.  With all of that being said, here are some photos from the show (some taken by my friend Mell):

Hildur Guðnadóttir


(Mell Fisher)


Fever Ray




(Mell Fisher)

