(image by welcome, ghosts)

Change…

For a while, I’ve been thinking about what change means to me.  There have been a few posts that I’ve started in regards to that which I never fully developed out of fear that they may sound too cheesy or too personal but sometimes, it’s okay to just let it all out.  Over the past few years, I’ve been a fan of change.  To some, or many, it’s quite scary and they choose to avoid being away from the familiar but I thrive on it.  I’ve never been a fan too much stability because over a period of time, it becomes overly routine.  I work best in an environment that isn’t too redundant and is constantly changing.  To some, that may seem like an inability to settle or a lack of wanting to be stable but is that really a bad thing?

Change for some can be good.  It means options.  If something or some location isn’t working out, there’s a new place to go to and explore.  New people to meet.  There is the ability to just leave everything behind, pick-up, and just go somewhere.  Yes, it’s easier said than done but what about all those people who hitched rides back in the day with one bag and a few bucks in their pockets? They were following their need for change.

For me, there has continuously been moments over the past few months/years in which I think about whether or not New York is the place for me.  In the beginning it was, but after 4 years of being here, there is the thought that it really isn’t and that it could just be a stepping stone.

I guess this is a bit of food for thought.  Anything can change in a year and with so much that still is to be potentially accomplished, optimism is the best policy.

This post is a bit of a change from the norm but serves as a way to put into words what some recent college grads may be feeling.  I still can’t get over the fact that my undergraduate career is officially over.  What a change that is.

