With my crazy work schedule, I hardly get the opportunity to go out with friends during the weekend unless I force myself to do so.  This past weekend was a rare exception since I made sure to request the day off in order to celebrate my friend Sara‘s birthday.  Twas a fun day/evening and me being me, I needed an excuse to wear my crushed velvet looking skirt for the festivities irregardless of whether or not it was too dressy for the occasion.

What I wore (excuse the awkward face):

(top: Forever 21 / skirt: Topshop / shoes: random store in London / headscarf: thrifted / belt: thrifted / necklace: H&M)

I also had the pleasure of helping Sara pick out an ensemble the festivities.  I applaud all of the stylists out there because dressing other certainly takes a lot of skill.  After sifting through her closet and putting a few looks together, the final outfit was 100% her making it a success in my book.

What she wore:

Two more from the night:

Overall, it was a good night full of hanging out with friends, a bit of a nostalgic moment complete with live music circa the high school days, and random conversations with strangers.

