It’s that time of year again when the weather is starting to cool down and everyone starts to bundle up more.  Over the past few days, I have been guilty of wearing very weather inappropriate outfits due to my longing for it to be fall and in some ways, winter.

I’ve been wearing the same two winter coats for as long as I can remember, both having been acquired early on in my high school career. That being said, it is time for a new winter coat.  I’ve scowered the web in an effort to find options that are affordable (since I don’t have the greatest income at the moment), durable, and versatile since I need a coat that will look good with just about everything.  My top three contenders are:

BB Dakota Clifton Coat – $120
I used this coat in my “What I Would Wear” post and I’m in love with the shape of it.  Although it’s a bit short for a winter coat, the tiered skirt basically sold it for me.

Mango Belted Funnel Neck Coat – $202.03
This coat has a very classic shape and structure to it and the funneled neck is perfect for those excruciating winter winds in NY.  Although I adore the red version, the black would be the perfect option in terms of everyday wearability. Lengthwise, this coat option is a lot more appropriate.

Topshop Ultimate Hooded Duffle Coat – $160
This is basically a winter staple.  There is no denying how popular this coat style is and the hood is one of the major benefits.  I’m always surprised by how difficult it is to find a winter coat that actually has a hood.  I love wearing things that are a bit more fitted but this coat would give me the freedom to wear more layers.

Knowing me, I’ll probably end up finding a coat at a thrift store (probably like the duffle coat) and call it a day but besides saving more money for Europe, I’m hoping to invest in a classic but timeless coat that I can happily wear for the next few years.

Does anyone have any other coat suggestions or coats they are currently lusting over?

