So this week is the CMJ Music Marathon and Film Festival and boy is it going to be a crazy week.  There are so many amazing shows and parties going on all over Manhattan and Brooklyn.  For those who think it’s necessary to have a festival badge, that is false depending on what you want to get out of the festival.  The first and only year I had a badge was the year I spent the summer interning for CMJ.  The perks of having one is being able to get into some of the bigger shows for free, attend the industry panels, and also utilize some of the discounts available a various bars, stores, and restaurants.  If you’re someone who is just looking to see live music, there are so many free events and showcases going on all over that require either an RSVP or just that you show up at the door ready to have a good time.  If you search hard enough, it’s not hard to find a number of the unofficial parties going on.

Last night I had the pleasure of attending The Conflict Party at Rebel.  Although I wasn’t able to see Nada Surf since their set ended up being much later that scheduled, I did snag this gem of a book:

The Playbook: Suit Up. Score Chicks. Be Awesome by Barney Stinson with Matt Kuhn

I clearly grabbed it because Neil Patrick Harris was on the cover.  It wasn’t until I full read the cover that I realized how amazing this book really is and how amazing the title is.  I’d be more than happy to lend to book out to any guys out there who could use some pointers.

So far, the agenda for the rest of the week involves attending the Nylon + H&M Soho store reopening (since they redesigned the interior) followed by  Two Door Cinema Club‘s show at Brooklyn Bowl tomorrow night, Thursday is looking like an insane night for CMJ events including one of  AAM‘s showcases plus the 4AD/Matador Records/Rough Trade/Sub Pop/XL Recordings/Young Turks Party.  I won’t even begin to get into the weekend with also involves two birthday outings.  It looks like I’m going to need to charge my camera or at least use up the rest of my disposable to document everything that will be going on over the next few days.

