My posts have become a bit sparse as of late but with good reason.  After a few more interviews that sadly didn’t result in new job opportunities, I agreed to an internship on somewhat of a whim.  I had seen a posting for the position at a start-up fashion PR firm that has only been around since about April of last year.

My original intention had been to find a real, full-time, adult job in an effort to spend a year/year and a half saving up for other future goals and aspirations.  After meeting with the founder of the company and her immediate decision to offer me the opportunity post interview, I decided it would be a good fit for me at this point in my life.

It generally takes a lot for me to jump on board for certain things but based on the size of the staff and the overall pitch I got, it seems like a great learning opportunity and a way to meet some amazing new people.  I also know that I’m not getting the mental stimulation I need at my current job.  Yes, trying to focus on creative projects is fun but at times can be frustrating on those days where after a long day of work and dealing with moody, rude, people who have a holier than thou attitude (the joys of the restaurant business and working on the Upper East Side), the only thing I want to do is curl up with a cup of tea and watch episodes of Gilmore Girls (yes I still watch that show) or Twin Peaks (currently obsessed) to take my mind off the stresses of the day.

I’m looking at this is a possible new chapter and a step towards figuring out exactly what it is I want to do.  Hopefully I’ll be able to share some of my new experiences at this internship as I watch the company grow over the next few months.  They’ve already gained four new clients, one having a similar aesthetic to Rick Owens from what I’m told.  I’m looking forward to seeing his collection during the lookbook shoot.

All of that aside, here’s to new opportunities.

 

*Note:  Eventually I’ll spill on where I’m interning at but at the moment, I’ll keep that on the hush hush until I’ve been there at least 2-3 weeks.

