First off, I hope everyone enjoyed their Easter weekend.  Mine was random and fun.  My next post will be about that once I sift through the pictures I took.  This post is about Rolling Stone.  About a week and a half ago, my photo class went on a trip to Rolling Stone and met with the Online Photo Editor John.  Within the office, they have a hallways featuring every single cover of Rolling Stone to date.  It was interesting to see not only the changes in overall layout, but also how much the content of Rolling Stone has changed over time.  This is what the first ever cover looked like (also take note of John Lennon on the cover):

And the magazine now (cover shot by Mark Seliger):

One other tidbit I hadn’t been aware of was Annie Lebowitz’s involvement in the magazine.  Yes she’s done countless shoots for Rolling Stone but when it was first started, she was the chief photographer which was a role she held there for many years.  Other major photographers who have shot for the magazine include Richard Avedon, Francesco Scavullo, and Herb Ritts to name a few.  It was quite an informative trip in terms of learning a bit about the history of Rolling Stone.  He also discussed what he does and also the perks his photo interns get which is basically passes to any shows they want to attend and take photos at from stadium shows to ones at small pubs.  It kind of made me wish I’d utilised the free shows I’ve gone to over the past three summers in order to build up some type of live concert portfolio.  C’est la vie I suppose.  I’ll end with a photo of me with last months issue which paid homage to Jimi Hendrix.